top of page

The Matchmaking Corner in Zhongshan Park




Published: Fall 2022


Author: Han Lu (Sophia)




Xiaofen Yu, 56, goes to the Zhongshan Park matchmaking corner on Gongyuan Road every Wednesday night to find a match for her 29-year-old son. She has been relentless in her pursuit for the past three years. Her biggest concern is whether she can see her son begin his own family before she gets older.


The Zhongshan Park matchmaking corner has a history of more than ten years. Some Wenzhou parents walk around the lawn, looking for candidates in the crowd. Most parents have been here for one to two years; some even for over three years.


Zhongshan Park is famous for its matchmaking corner. It is on Gongyuan Road, Lucheng District, Wednesday, Oct. 5, 2022. [Photo/Lu Han]


Parents introduce their children at the park matchmaking corner uniquely. They write down children’s information on A4 paper or phone memos, then walk up to others and show it to them. “My son insists that he doesn’t want to get married and wants to start his career first,” Yu explained.


However, most people who go to Zhongshan Park are parents rather than their children. Some parents are worried that the older their children get, the more difficult it will be to find a partner. “My son thinks I embarrass him at the matchmaking corner and is unwilling to go with me,” Yu explained, “because he hates that there are many strangers.”


In 2017, China Match-maker Research Center conducted a study with 1,000 individuals, which showed that among all cities in Zhejiang province, Wenzhou parents are the most eager to push their children to get married, and more than 90% of Wenzhou singles are pressured by their parents to find a match.


A man holds up a card, which provides his age, height, address, job, salary, and requirements for the match. He is popular in the matchmaking corner, Wednesday, Oct. 5, 2022. [Photo/Lu Han]


Dongmei Zhang, 52, is desperate to find a match for her daughter at the matchmaking corner. “My daughter is a kindergarten teacher. She doesn’t socialize and is surrounded by females. Thus, finding a boyfriend for her becomes my duty,” she said.


Zhang was worried about the matchmaking market. “I’ve noticed more young people are going to the matchmaking corner recently, which means finding a suitable partner is getting harder and more competitive,” she said.


The matchmaking corner in the park is not the only option. Recently, matchmaking agencies have sprung up and have become another platform for parents.


Can Tao, 25, went on matchmaking under the pressure of his parents. He said, “The matchmaking agency makes me feel awkward. This is the same feeling I had when I had to take extracurricular classes when I was a kid. I really cannot believe I have to take agency’s training to find a suitable wife.”


Matchmaking agencies seem unreliable compared to the matchmaking corners. “I want to follow my heart. Marriage will last a lifetime, but I’m not in a hurry,” Tao said.











Comentários

Avaliado com 0 de 5 estrelas.
Ainda sem avaliações

Adicione uma avaliação
bottom of page